📚 A&B #136

My favorite books of 2023 so far, bionic reading, and more.

🙏 Support:

This week's newsletter was made possible by Audible.

If you're into audiobooks or always wanted to try them out, now's a great time to sign up. I highly recommend "Can't Hurt Me" and "Greenlights."

👋 Hey everyone,

Here are a few popular posts you may have missed:

📚 Book Summary:

Since Q1 of 2023 is over, I wanted to share a few of my favorite books so far (and what you can learn from them):

1) "The Joys of Compounding" by Gautam Baid

  • Read this book if you want to learn how to become a better investor. A lot of the lessons can be applied to personal development so you'll also learn how to become a better person as well.

2) "Men's Work" by Connor Beaton

  • Read this book to learn about positive masculinity and how to become a better man. If you're a guy who's stuck in a dark place or working through some trauma, this book will help you.

3) "Burn The Boats" by Matt Higgins

  • Read this book if you need motivation to make a big leap in life. If you're thinking about quitting your job or starting a business, this book is filled with inspirational stories and insightful strategies that will help point you in the right direction.

4) "I'm So Effing Hungry" by Amy Shah

  • Read this book if you want to overcome your cravings or bad snacking habits. It's packed with great nutritional advice and will help you develop a healthier diet.

5) "The Fine Art of Small Talk" by Debra Fine

  • Read this book to learn about the importance of small talk and how to become a better conversationalist. If you want less awkward conversations in your life and make to learn how to make more friends, this book is for you.

✅ Actionable Advice:

1) Reply "A" to this email if you're interested in the reading course I'm building and want the preorder discount.

2) Reply "B" to this email if you're an author with an awesome book and have a marketing budget to promote it.

3) Reply "C" to this email if you're an awesome company that wants to sponsor my newsletter.

📖 Reading Lesson:

5 Reading mantras to remember:

  • Not every book will be a match for me (even if it's a bestseller or classic) and that's okay.

  • I won't force myself to finish a book I'm not enjoying.

  • If the book I'm reading is not interesting, I will put it down and start a new one.

  • I may not feel like reading right now but future me will thank me for it.

  • It's better to quit a book than to quit reading altogether.

⭐️ Weekly Quote:

"If it isn't a clear yes, then it's a clear no."

Thank you for your support everyone, I'll see you next Sunday!

Read on,

Alex W.

PS: If a friend forwarded you this email you can sign up for the newsletter here.

Join the conversation

or to participate.